FAQs: Why this title?

Well, because it is not, but the state of public discourse today is such that any mention of Indian philosophy and heritage is promptly labeled as right wing or hindutva or communal. The fact of the matter is if I urge Hindus to learn Vedantic philosophy, and you read between the lines a message of anti-muslim, or anti-christian or anti-anyone, then it is you who is communal, not me.

Still there is always a possibility of written word being taken out of context and misrepresented. So let me explicitly address a few misconceptions that I have personally come across.

 So, you want to convert everyone to Hindu?  First read my post on the issue of conversion and let me repeat the mantraYour Moksha is not my problem, and mine shouldn’t be yours! The target audience for this blog is Indian Born Confused Desis. Evidence and arguments highlighted in this blog helped me to remove my confusion. It might help other IBCDs too. At best you can say that I want Hindus to convert to Hinduism.

So, you want to punish current generations to correct the wrongs of History? I do not believe in correcting the wrongs of history by punishing, or for that matter, rewarding current generations. I have no doubt that the British colonial rule over India was unequivocally malicious and damaging for India. But that does not mean that Indians today should hate Brits or the two governments should not cooperate, etc. Likewise, I do not believe in rewarding any caste with non-merit based reservations today to fix the injustices of the past.

 So, you want to revert the whole society to how it was in Vedic times? Whenever I talk about the foundations of Hindu philosophy or scientific achievements of ancient Hindus, invariably someone would say – so you want everyone to shun modern living and live in a kutiya (hut) in the jungle?! This is ridiculous, let alone impractical since there isn’t enough jungle out there to support the current population!

I am not a Vedic romanticist. I am merely open to the idea that the Vedic and, more generally, Dharmic traditions may have something useful to offer for the current age, and I am curious to find that out. I feel that Yoga and Ayurveda may just be the tip of the iceberg. So let’s explore more and adopt things that may still be relevant.

Update:

  • From this 2016 blog post of RM

For instance, Pandit Yudhishthir Mimansak was one of the greatest scholars of Sanskrit grammar in the 20th century. His writings were largely printed by small-scale regional publishing houses, and he lived in poverty and suffered greatly from illness during his last years. If he were alive today, his writings would be accused as being those of a Hindu Nationalist, just as many of the living scholars in Ganesh’s list are unfairly branded.

Author: thisisnotrightwing

See posts with tag FAQs

Leave a Reply

